My Endless Love: Mum

Mother and Son (my brudda)

Top Five Reasons my Mum is Remarkable:

  1.        She’s part feline: My mum has clinically died 8 times in her life. Her miraculous comebacks include surviving severe pneumonia, gassing, two separate heart failures due to leaking aortic valve, a brain aneurism, and a car accident.
  2.        Everyone loves her: And I mean everyone. I recently gave a pal directions to my house, ending with “if you get lost, knock on any door in the street and ask where Aunty Daph lives”. Our street is not short, my mum is just everyone’s favourite aunty. And it’s always been like that, she has the ability to enthral children and adults alike just by being her. She gets invited to friends-of-friend’s weddings. She has teenage boys calling to chat with her.   She gets proposals from men who don’t even know her name—on more than one occasion (so what if they were drunk!)
  3.        She’s a good egg: My mum is from the old school days when you helped people just because they needed it. She bakes morning tea for the girls at work, sews costume skirts for the neighbour’s kids, and takes in anyone who needs a bed for a day, a week, or several months. She will drive the six hour round trip in one day to attend your birthday party, because she’s honoured to be invited. She is, heart and soul, good.
  4.        She’s more than you expect: My mum was born in the 40s, right at the end of the war. She grew up in a small country town, riding to school by horse. She got married and had two kids. She is small, well mannered, and unassuming. But she’s also a million times more than that. She was the one who tried to save her sister from burning alive when she was seven (sadly Heather died), she once ironed underwear in a brothel, and she knows how to drive a semi-trailer, a tractor and a harvester. She was the Darling Downs Skipping Champion (not the type with the rope. Yep, real sport!), a champion rally-car driver, and the belle of all the local balls. She also helped raise her siblings, becoming mother to her youngest sister, when my nana was diagnosed with Breast Cancer.
  5.        She knows everything: Just when you think there’s nothing more you can learn from her, my mother will teach you something you had no idea she knew how to do. Can your mum crack a whip, make birthday cakes that look exactly like the ones in the Woman’s Weekly Birthday Cakes book, and sheer a sheep? Can she make ball gowns out of curtains, take your blood, and name different species of wheat or breeds of cows? How about knowing it’s going to be cold even when it’s 28C outside, teach you to jive, or know you’ve been up to something from the other side of the world. My mum can. She can do all of it. And so much more.

I know this all sounds a bit biased and like I’m bragging. But, well, I guess I am. Mums are amazing, no matter who’s they are or what they’ve done in their lives because they’ve given up their time, money, and body to turn us into human beings. But mine is also by absolute hero. She is, without fail, the person in this world I love, respect, and look up to the most. And she’s definitely my favourite person ever—past, present, or future.

Happy Mother’s Day, Daphne. And all the other mother’s out there—I hope you got spoiled for all the years you’ve spent spoiling everyone else.

2 thoughts on “My Endless Love: Mum

Leave a Reply

