The Not-so-Miserable

There is such an amazing selection of films due for release in the coming months, many of which I’ve been waiting desperately for, but none more so than this one:

All my favourite people know how much I adore a good musical, so it’s not a huge leap to assume that the film release of Les Misérables has got me hanging out for Boxing Day. Normally I’m disappointed by the film adaptation of musical theatre—because the music is recorded separately, it loses the element of realness and true emotion that comes with genuine, live theatre. There can be inconsistencies between the emotions portrayed in visual image as opposed to the pre-recorded audio track, which lets down pivotal scenes immensely.

With Les Misérables director, Tom Hooper (lauded for the King’s Speech), has done away with the pre-recorded audio and, in an ingenious move, has the cast singing live whilst completing the scenes. Brilliant! This can only improve the immense emotion and passion the actors give to their roles, as everything is 100% unhindered by the disjunction of the two key elements. Check out this little featurette for a bit more about this outstanding directorial choice:

While I’m gushing, the cast! It’s enough to throw together the sheer brilliance that is Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway, but to then add Helena Bonham Carter, Amanda Seyfried, and Eddie Redmayne—magic. Every one of these actors has talent for acting and singing out the wazoo, so there would really be no need to prop them up with even more awesome. But Mr. Hooper has, throwing in Russell Crowe and Sacha Baron Cohen for good measure. As Borat would say, wawaweewa!

Only sixty-two more sleeps!

2 thoughts on “The Not-so-Miserable

  1. Fantastic story – at first I groaned that there is going to be another Hollywood movie, but the trailers and the approach are very encouraging. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

    I know where my wife and I will be on December 26th. I predict many Oscar nominations for this one.

    • Glad I could share!
      I’m a bit sick of Hollywood’s obsession with remaking old films and turning TV shows into moves. But I’m hoping this trend to turn theatre into film (and vice-versa) reacquaints people with theatre, and encourages a trip to a live production.

Leave a Reply

