Thematic: Love, Love, Love.

Happy Valentine’s Day, lovers! I was lucky enough (and very honoured) to be asked to guest post on One Good Thing yesterday, as part of Wabi’s week-long tribute to love. I talked about love, and felt the love come right back at me. It was awesome.

Truth be told, I’m not a huge fan of V-Day. In or out of a relationship, to me, it feels like a staged display of affection. Working yesterday evening, my feelings were only compounded—a bunch of people getting in early with their V-Day flowers, and all but one claiming, “if I don’t get her/him something, I’ll be in trouble”. Why, because you chose not to follow the trend? Isn’t that a bit sad?

Personally, I’d much rather receive flowers (or chocolates, or jewellery, or shoes), because my man happened to be thinking about me, not because the whole world has dictated that if he’s doesn’t get me something he doesn’t love me.  But hey, that’s just me.

In saying that, I do love love. So today’s thematic is ultimately dedicated to all things love. Like these kitties, who prove that it doesn’t matter if you’re black or white:

See what I did there?

There’s always so many lovely Valentine’s Day recipes out there, I can’t possibly share all of them. Here’s a collage of cute sweets instead. Check out the description below for recipe links, and get cooking!

1. Conversation Heart Cookies, from Bell’alimento; 2. Dark Chocolate Mousse Hearts, from Lulu’s Sweeet Secrets; 3. Valentine’s Day Cake Balls, via Cake Central; 4. Mini Conversation Heart Cheesecakes, from Hungry Happenings; 5 & 6. Valentines Cookies, courtesy of Hello Naomi.

1. Conversation Heart Cookies, from Bell’alimento; 2. Dark Chocolate Mousse Hearts, from Lulu’s Sweet Secrets; 3. Valentine’s Day Cake Balls, via Cake Central; 4. Mini Conversation Heart Cheesecakes, from Hungry Happenings; 5 & 6. Valentines Cookies, courtesy of Hello Naomi.

Not a baker? How about a pretty card for your love? Or even just for a pal who you think is wonderful.

1. Madison Design Studio’s free printable gift tags, via Delightful Deets; 2. Sweet Grad School gift cards, from A Field Journal.

1. Madison Design Studio’s free printable gift tags, via Delightful Deets; 2. Sweet Grad School gift cards, from A Field Journal.

And for all you kids out there who are as suspect of V–Day as I am, this is the card for you:

Anti-Valentine’s Day Card, from Row House 14.

Buut, if I ever was to get something this cute from a Valentine, I’d probably change my opinion:

Sage the puppy, courtesy of The Daily Puppy.

Wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

