Fashion Friday: Kindness

Okay, so maybe my topic choice tonight seems like a bit of a stretch. But, seriously, when have you ever thought someone who was kind to you was unfashionable for their actions. Personally, I think kindness is the coolest look ever.

See this:

Fashion Friday - Birthday Kindess

This is my birthday haul. Yes, haul. All that stuff is from just three brilliant, fantastic, Ah-mazing ladies, who just happen to be three of my bestest friends in the whole world (and not just because that give me cool shiz). Not only have I been showered with gifts tonight, I’ve been completely overwhelmed by kindness.

Tonight was to be a movie night/dinner at Helva’s place—just a casual get-together, not unlike many we have had in the past. I kinda knew something was up, however, when the planning took a decidedly “hands-off, Heidi!” turn. And by “up”, I mean geared towards a semi-surprise party for me. My suspicions were confirmed on arrival at Helva’s, mainly from the copious amounts of wrapped items sitting in wait. That said, every gift was a pleasant surprise. Not going to lie, dying to finish this post so I can pore through my books before sleep.

But wait…there’s more! (Nineties home shopping, anyone?). There had been some mention of frocking up for this movie night which, quite frankly, I was incredibly un-keen for this afternoon—I was, in fact, an inch away from donning trackies and a tee. Luckily, I chose some semblance of a dress-leggings combo, because it turned out that their little surprise included a lovely dinner at one of Toowoomba’s finest restaurants.

I had a bit of a whinge about not looking the part, and not being prepared to go out for dinner, etc. But within five minutes of sitting down I’d forgotten all about the lack of make-up and unbrushed hair. Dinner was delicious. If you’re ever in Toowoomba, head to Veraison—it’s not cheap, but each bite is worth a week’s salary. The company was spectacular, although we probably need to work on our inside voices and topic choices. Er, rhyme not intended. And the sentiment behind it was utterly wonderful.

As I type this last bit I’m tearing up, but for very different reasons than those, that left me foetal on my bed earlier today. The past few weeks (months, years) have really shaken me. I’ve spent many days wondering how to dig myself out of this ever-widening hole, and many more days simply deciding it’s maybe just not worth the effort. Tonight three ladies proved me wrong, because just getting to spend time with them makes it worth all the effort.

Helva, Wabi, and Rendez, thank you. I know I had a moan over the unexpectedness of it all, but I truly appreciated tonight. Thank you for being such wonderful, caring, beautiful women. Kindness looks good on you.

Leave a Reply

