Spectacle Spectacular: The Prologue

Yesterday I went to the optometrist for the first time in three years. I was so excited! How sad is that, right? But I love my optometrist, and I have had my old glasses for so long that there are more scratches than there is clear lens. I’ve also had the same frame for over six years, and I’m thoroughly sick of it.

As much as I adore my optometrist, because he is quite small the selection is rather miserable, and I really struggled to find anything I loved. So I headed to the nearby OPSM, where I fell in love with these babies:

I promptly took them back to my optometrist’s office, and am now waiting with bated breath for next week, when I will get to share them with the world.

That could be the end of the story, but it’s not. The thing is, as much as I love the frames I’ve picked, they’re not really what I wanted. I wear glasses. I don’t like wearing them all the time, but since I have to, I want to really wear them. I want them to be an accessory, rather than just a necessity.

The frames above are lovely, but they’re bordering on bland. What I really want is something that stands out. The style I was looking for is something ultra-nerdy. The kind you would have turned your nose up at when you were a kid—the Steve Urkel kind. Unfortunately, they’d never suit me. Neither does the current trendy oversized, square black frame. What does suit me, and what I secretly love, is the ultra-round style—think Harry Potter, or Henry Walton (aka Indiana Jones).

So I did a bit of research last night, and not only did I find stacks of nerd-tastic frames, I also discovered a whole bunch of sites that allow you to try before you buy. The way it works is really simple: you pick five or so frames you like, give your credit card details (and with some a minimal holding fee), and they send you out the frames to try. After a week, you send them back, they refund any holding fees, and you can order any that you just can’t live without.

I love this idea so much, because it gives you the opportunity to sit with the frame for more than five minutes and really get used to it as part of your style, rather than a foreign object you’ve just picked up.  Because I’m so sold on this idea, and because so many sites have frames that I just adore, I’ve decided to have a Spectacle Spectacular. Over the coming weeks, I’ll be ordering try-at-homes from a number of different websites. I’ll write a review of not just the frames themselves, but the companies as well, so you can get an idea of the easiest processes and best value for when all you other four-eyes need new glasses.

Watch this space for the first instalment of the Spectacle Spectacular this time next week.

Leave a Reply

