Resolute: The Thirty

New Year’s Card, from Emily McDowell on Etsy.

So I decided that, since I’m thirty this year, I should have thirty New Year’s Resolutions. Why? I don’t know. Probably because I like making lists, like, way too much. Anyway, I came up with thirty, and I’m going to try my hardest to achieve them all. In fact, at the start of every month I’m going to pick certain ones to achieve, and blog about them before and after they are achieved. Basically I’m using Heidielka as a method of shaming myself into accomplishing things, because if I don’t cross them off after saying I would, I’ll feel a bit silly.

Sometime in the next week, I’ll tell you all about the first few. For now, here’s the full list. Some of them are tough and a little scary, some just plain silly, and some (I hope) will make me a better human being.

  1. Make cheese
  2. Be real
  3. Drop those kilos
  4. Learn to ride a bike
  5. Become financially stable
  6. Leave the country for at least a week
  7. Take dance classes
  8. Be adventurous
  9. Remember Shrove Tuesday—PANCAKES!
  10. Try ten new foods
  11. Swear less
  12. Go to the ballet
  13. Sew, knit, crochet
  14. Get that tattoo
  15. Read more books
  16. Take road trips
  17. Be kinder
  18. Cook a whole turkey
  19. Learn to say no, some times
  20. Take horse riding lessons
  21. Let things go
  22. Eat breakfast
  23. Be more aware
  24. Take more photos
  25. Live responsibly
  26. Take a mystery holiday
  27. Buy chickens
  28. Try speed dating
  29. Change someone’s life
  30. Be more appreciative

So that’s my thirty for thirty. What were your resolutions this year?

One thought on “Resolute: The Thirty

  1. Pingback: Resolute: January’s Five | heidielka

Leave a Reply

